RELATED LINKS
Fraud Alerts
Online Banking Fraud Alert
February 2, 2010
Credit Union members have reported receiving a fraudulent message regarding their online banking account. This message states, “We do not recognize the computer you are using. To continue with Online Banking, please provide the information requested below.” Then, the message asks you to enter your credit card number and security code along with the expiration date and ATM PIN. This message is FRAUDULENT! Do not enter any of your personal financial information. Firelands Federal Credit Union will NEVER request your personal account information via the Internet or email. Please contact us if you have received this message or have shared your personal account information with a similar source. This message is related to malicious software loaded on your local computer. There are many anti-virus and anti-malware programs you can use to attempt to remove the software.
February 2, 2010
Credit Union members have reported receiving a fraudulent message regarding their online banking account. This message states, “We do not recognize the computer you are using. To continue with Online Banking, please provide the information requested below.” Then, the message asks you to enter your credit card number and security code along with the expiration date and ATM PIN. This message is FRAUDULENT! Do not enter any of your personal financial information. Firelands Federal Credit Union will NEVER request your personal account information via the Internet or email. Please contact us if you have received this message or have shared your personal account information with a similar source. This message is related to malicious software loaded on your local computer. There are many anti-virus and anti-malware programs you can use to attempt to remove the software.
Craigslist.org Scam Targets Credit Union Members
January 8, 2010
Advertisements have been posted on Craigslist as part of member recruitment scams nationwide. The ads solicit current credit union members and offer $75.00 or more for their assistance in gaining membership for ineligible individuals.
This scam is targeting credit unions and members across the country.
The following are samples of Craigslist ads targeting credit union members for this recruitment scam:
If you're an ABC Credit Union Member MAKE SOME EXTRA $$
This is NOT a scam! I am willing to call you and discuss extensively! I need an ABC Credit Union Member to sponsor me into the credit union. I am willing to pay $100 USD for this service. Please email me and we can discuss this in detail. This is a 1 day process and I want to become a member for investment account/interest rate purposes.
Need to find an XYZ Credit Union Member
I was just approved for a visa credit card with XYZ Federal Credit Union and they called me and said that they can not process the application if I do not know any existing member or if I am not employed at one of the list of companies they have. To become a member you have to know a member. So now my app is on hold until I can find someone who is already a member. If you know someone, please tell them to contact me. I am willing to pay $500. And all they ask for is the members name and member number. Thanks.
ABC and XYZ Members Needed!!!
If you are an ABC or XYZ Federal Credit Union member we will pay you $75.00 per member to sponsor other people that would like to join the credit union but do not meet the membership requirements. Please email for details.
Please do not respond to any of these types of fradulent ads.
Phishing Alert - E-mail Claiming to be from NACHA
November 19, 2009
The Electronic Payments Association has received reports that individuals and/or companies have received a fraudulent e-mail that has the appearance of having been sent from NACHA with the subject title “Rejected ACH Transaction.” This e-mail appears to be from NACHA – The Electronic Payments Association telling them that there is a problem with an ACH transaction they have originated. The e-mail includes a link which redirects the individual to a fake web page which appears like the NACHA website and contains a link which is almost certainly an executable virus with malware. If you should receive such an email, you should delete it immediately. Do not follow Web links in unsolicited e-mails from unknown parties or from parties with whom you do not normally communicate, or that appear to be known but are suspicious or otherwise unusual. Additional information on this issue may be found at NACHA’s website www.nacha.org
